Virginia Tech® home

Advisory Council

The Advisory Counsil purpose is to focus on enhancing the regional impact of the Newport News Center by serving as a vital link between the university and the community. The members include:

  • Lauren Hansen, Chief Communications Officer, Jefferson Lab
  • Katelyn Melo Byrd, Chief of Growth, ITA International
  • Steve Cook, Chief Innovation Officer, Hampton Roads Workforce Council
  • Toi Hunter, Vice President for Business Retention and Expansion, Hampton Roads Alliance
  • Katrina Young, Lead, T2X and T2U - Strategic Partnerships Office, NASA Langley Research Center
  • Tom O'Grady, Economic Development Manager, City of Newport News
  • Anyssa Reddix, Program Diretor, Envision. Lead. Grow.
  • Casey Roberts, Ed.S., Executive Director, New Horizons Regional Education Centers
  • Janet Spencer, District Director - Tidewater AREC, Virginia Cooperative Extension
  • Jay Grant, Executive Director, LISC Hampton Roads
  • Susan Johnstad, Ph.D., Director Richmond & Newport News Centers, Virginia Tech
  • Bob McKenna, President/CEO, Virginia Peninsula Chamber